Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of The French Life

Lemon Financiers

PLUS: Menton's famous lemons and a look at Vincent van Gogh's artistic development

Lemons are one of the most indispensable ingredients in my cooking (besides olive oil, butter, garlic and fleur de sel). In fact, I feel slightly anxious if I don’t have a bowl of glorious, bright-yellow lemons on my kitchen counter. Their tart juice is squeezed into vinaigrettes, marinades and sauces; their aromatic zest adds flavor to bakes and vegetables; and I even preserve them to make authentic chicken tagines and other Middle Eastern dishes.

While some ladies swoon with delight when they see a Tiffany’s box, I get weak in the knees when I spot swanky food items. I don’t have expensive taste in clothes or shoes, but truffles, for example? Oh my! They’re too irresistible to pass up. Gourmet lemons (though certainly not as expensive as the aforementioned ‘black diamonds’) are no exception. 

This week, we’re making authentic lemon financiers (tender, bar-shaped cakes that are addictively delicious and super easy to make). We’ll also be looking at Menton’s famous lemons and tracing Van Gogh’s development as an artist through his food paintings (including a beautiful still-life with lemons). Lots to dig into again in this newsletter!

On y va !

The French Life is a reader-supported publication. To receive exclusive posts such as this one and support my work, consider becoming a paid subscriber for as little as $2.50 a month.

The full video is for paid subscribers

The French Life
The French Life
Authors
Paola Westbeek